The PROMS at London’s Royal Albert Hall

I’ve just been introduced to BBC’s the Proms featuring John Wilson and his orchestra.  Bagong crush ko ang lolo mo.  Haha.  What can I say?  He’s a double G–a gorgeous genius.

I’ve seen the two videos of the concerts shown in the Royal Albert Hall, the 2009 Celebration of MGM Musicals where they featured the songs Singing in the Rain and Somewhere Over the Rainbow, and the 2010 Celebration of Rodgers and Hammerstein, where they featured my all-time favorite musical The Sound of Music.  It was heaven.  No matter how many times I watched the video I can’t seem to take my fill of it.

Another new artist I’ve discovered is Sierra Boggess.  She took the role of Ariel in The Little Mermaid the Musical where she got the award for Favorite Female Breakthrough Performance in 2008.  I first heard her voice in the album of the Original Cast Recording where at first I thought it was Lea Salonga who was singing Part of Your World but when I researched about it I found out that it was a different singer altogether.  Andrew Lloyd Weber took her for the second part of The Phantom of the Opera entitled Love Never Dies where she was nominated Best Actress in a Musical this year.  Coincidentally, I also saw her in the 2010 The Proms Celebration where she sang I Have Confidence from the movie The Sound of Music.

Leave a comment

Filed under YouTube

Leave a Reply

