Review: Les Miserables

Loved every single minute of the movie.

I’m usually partial to theater productions compared to musicals put on film but this one knocked my presumptions off a mile away.

Anne Hathaway

Anne Hathaway

Everyone was great (except perhaps Russel Crowe, who was effective as Javert but fell frustratingly short in his singing voice and Sacha Baron Cohen whose depiction of his role didn’t quite capture Thenardier’s sly but hilarious nature).  It was no exaggeration when they said Anne Hathaway and Hugh Jackman were great in the movie.  I was pleasantly and marvelously surprised by their portrayal of the characters Fantine and Jean Valjean.  Even Eddie Redmayne [Marius Pontmercy] was very impressive particularly at the part where he sang “Empty Chairs at Empty Tables”.  I felt my heart actually break along with his.

Helena Bonham Carter

Helena Bonham Carter

The appearance of familiar faces from West End was both welcome and heartwarming especially Colm Wilkinson who appeared as the Bishop of Digne.  Natalya Wallace suitably played her role as Eponine but, of course, Lea Salonga’s version of “On My Own”  and “A Little Fall of Rain” still hold the “better” version for me. 😀

But enough of my unashamed display of fanaticism.

I suggest that you just go and watch the movie…preferably in the big screen. 😉

I am sure you will not regret it.

Leave a comment

January 18, 2013 · 2:13 am

Leave a Reply

