I am Green

Composting, organic gardening, and garbage segregating are just some of the things we’ve been observing long before Ondoy blew over Metro Manila.  It was a conscious effort despite the difficulty and oftentimes messy process we needed to go through in order to stand by its tenet.  But Ondoy came and despite our conscientious observance of living “green” we were badly hit by it.  Quite honestly it hurt.  Not because of the things we lost but because I feel we did our part to prevent it from happening and I felt that that effort should’ve shielded us from the flood.  Our neighbors are not as fastidious and even now can be seen throwing their garbage over their wall right in the creek that divides us.  For a while it made me ask myself if we should continue “preserving” nature and helping Mother Earth survive when obviously most of the people around us just don’t care.  “Why even try when the majority of the population is out to destroy it anyway?”

But then enlightenment came over me.  If I stop doing the right thing then it would be just like saying “they are right”.  So I decided to persist.  It is after all the right thing to do.  If ever my future children or grandchildren ask me in the future what I did so they too could enjoy Earth the way I did, I wouldn’t be ashamed to answer that I fought with all of my strength so that they wouldn’t be robbed of their right to their share of this planet.  I believe everyone who has children and even those who are thinking of having children should put in double the effort to live a conscientiously green life.

Here are some ways you can incorporate the green action in your everyday life:

1.  Composting – prepare a separate container in the kitchen for vegetable and fruit scraps and eggshells.  We love making veggie/fruit smoothies and you wouldn’t believe the amount of food scraps that alone could produce.  This website [Eartheasy] could teach you what to compost and how.  In my case, I bought books and read lots of information from the internet.  I was so overwhelmed by the term alone but after researching about it, it gave me the confidence to at least try.  Now its already second nature to produce sacks of composted soil (which are quite expensive in the stores).

2.  Organic Gardening – I’ve always felt I had the brown thumb but persistence actually pays.  The worst thing that could happen is to kill a plant.  You need to weigh the pros and cons here.  Just think–what’s the best thing that could happen?  For me?  The first time (last year) I grew a tomato plant and I only managed to produce 1 fruit before the plant actually died.  This year I grew six trees and they all produce luscious and different varieties of tomatoes.  It was quite exciting to pick them fresh from the trees and know its not beset with chemicals.  This website (Gardening Know How) is a great source of information.

3.  Harvest Rain Water – I actually made my own rain water barrel.  Rain is free and collecting them you lessen your bill by at least fifty percent.  You could use them for cleaning and flushing in the toilet.  You could try Youtube for the actual process.  Rain Barrel Guide can tell you how to do it.

4.  Conserve energy – We’ve started using LED lights and they helped a lot in the reduction of electric bills.  20 THINGS YOU CAN DO TO CONSERVE ENERGY has some additional help for you.

There are a lot more you can do to be able to help in the preservation of our planet.  There’s no need to be overwhelmed.  All you need to do is to just do it one step at a time.

Leave a comment

Filed under GREEN, Random Thoughts

Leave a Reply

