Korean Series: MONSTAR

I’ve been introduced lately to a new korean tv series called Monstar.  It’s only on its 5th episode so I can’t really give a full review but what I’ve already seen I actually loved.  It’s a musical and, in my own humble opinion, made with such finesse.  The music they placed in it were not forced just to establish the fact that it’s a musical.   The songs were quite tasteful and appealing even to a non-Korean like myself.

More than the song, I really loved the story.  Even that I found pleasing and not offensive like the western musicals I’ve seen so far.  It’s very acceptable to our conservative culture and does not stomp on our sensitive Asian sensibilities.  Actually it reaffirms and establishes the importance of close family ties.

The story was quite fascinating especially when it slowly reveals the layers hidden in each character in the show.  Most of the time, local tv novellas have the tendency to reveal “everything” on its first episode thus killing the interest of most of their viewers.

I love the actors as well.  Monstar is actually funny even though its characters are shown going through painful lives that they keep hidden from everyone else.  The actors portrayed their characters well and I find the main cast quite adorable and funny.  It is a show for teenagers and, with what I’ve seen so far, I would recommend it to my niece.

Wikipedia Review:[click]

“Seol-chan, a member of Korea’s most popular K-pop boy band Men in Black, is provoked into pushing one of his crazy fans, and when that goes viral, his reputation plummets. As damage control, his agency tells him to quietly attend school for a while. Meanwhile, Se-yi, a new transfer student from New Zealand, draws attention in the school for both her talent and oddness. Misunderstandings occur between Seol-chan, Se-yi and their other classmates. But in the midst of all the chaos, these students find a common interest which connects them to each other… music. Every character has his or her own untold stories, which have had significant impact in their lives. But as they gather together to sing and play the music they love, they learn to soothe the pain inside them, and to open each person’s heart to one another.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Random Thoughts

Leave a Reply

